The Executive Committee


Karla Boluk, Co-chair TEFI

Associate Professor, Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies, University of Waterloo


Institutional Profile

Linkedin Profile

YSJ-Staff_Portraits-Jan_2018-Web_Res-BB-9985 2

Brendan Paddison, Co-chair

Director for Postgraduate Study, Senior Lecturer in Business and Management at York St John University


Institutional Profile

Linkedin Profile

Advisory Board

Professor Pauline Sheldon (TEFI Co-founder) is Professor Emerita at the University of Hawaii’s School of Travel Industry Management. Pauline co-founded the Tourism Education Futures Initiative (TEFI) with Dr. Daniel Fesenmaier and chaired the BEST Education Network for six years. She also co-founded TRINET (Tourism Research Information Network) which is an international tourism researchers’ electronic bulletin board with over 3,000 subscribers worldwide. She has worked extensively at the international level with organizations such as the United Nations World Tourism Organization, APEC International Center for Sustainable Tourism, and the World Bank, and at the local level as a Board member of the Hawaii Visitors and Convention Bureau, and as a member of the Strategic Planning Committee of the Hawaii Tourism Authority which was tasked to define sustainable tourism policies and indicators for Hawaii. Pauline has been the President of the International Academy for the Study of Tourism. In 2008 she won the UNWTO Ulysses prize for her contributions to the development of knowledge in sustainable tourism. In 2009 she was recognized with the International Travel and Tourism Research Association Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Professor Dan Fesenmaier (TEFI Co-founder) received his Ph.D. in geography from Canada’s University of Western Ontario. He has taught at the University of Oklahoma, Texas A&M University, Indiana University, the University of Illinois and Temple University. Dr. Fesenmaier is author of a number of articles dealing with tourism marketing, advertising evaluation and information technology. He has co-authored a book and a monograph and co-edited five books focusing various aspects of tourism marketing, information technology and development. Dr. Fesenmaier is co-founding editor of Tourism Analysis; past Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Information Technology and Tourism, and is Editor of the Foundations in Tourism Research Series in the Journal of Travel Research. He is a Fellow, International Academy for the Study of Tourism; an adjunct Professor, Modul University – Vienna; and Co-founder, Tourism Education Futures Initiative. 

anna pollock

Anna Pollock, Founder of Conscious Travel, has been a valued member of our Advisory Board since 2013.

Often described as being irrepressibly curious and creative, "ahead of her time", and a "visionary", Anna sees herself as a change agent whose mission is to help clients and colleagues prepare for a very different future. Her passion is helping create positive workplace cultures that foster curiosity, creativity and collaboration. Anna tries to live the mantra "winning by sharing" as she believes there is more than enough work that needs to be done and none of us really "own" ideas - we are merely antennae. The core task is to be receptive and to know whom to engage in implementation.

Anna continues to challenge us with her blog entries at Conscious Travel

Dianne Dredge, Past Chair TEFI (2013-2017)

Professor, Founder and Director, Tourism CoLab, Australia